Skip To Main Content

Gifted and Talented

Gifted and Talented

PHILOSOPHY STATEMENT:

All current students with substantiated gifts and /or talents in the Middleton School District shall be provided with an opportunity designed to challenge, sustain, enrich and ensure continued individual growth.  We recognize that these students require differentiated instruction, social emotional advocacy and exposure to multiple extensions, which promote critical thinking, curiosity, independent learning, creative expression and leadership opportunities.  Administrators, facilitators, and teachers will work together in collaboration with parents and community, to ensure that the identification and educational needs of our gifted and/or talented students are met.

We continue to refine our identification practices in coordination with other district throughout the state.  Some of the improvements come from continued training opportunities focused on the characteristics of all types of gifted student, including ELL, low income, twice exceptional, specific talents and leadership. Our use of formal assessments has expanded to assist with the identification of these special populations; some of which include the non-verbal cognitive assessment (CogAT), an optional GAI scale WISC and a teacher interview.  Additionally, we have included STAR360 as a screening tool. 

Middleton School District Gifted and Talented Program    

Melody Craw Headshot

Melody Craw
Gifted and Talented Program Facilitator

mcraw@msd134.org
Biography

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2
Mon, Jun 3
Tue, Jun 4
Wed, Jun 5
Thu, Jun 6
Fri, Jun 7
Sat, Jun 8
Sun, Jun 9
Mon, Jun 10
Tue, Jun 11
Wed, Jun 12
Thu, Jun 13
Fri, Jun 14
Sat, Jun 15
Sun, Jun 16
Mon, Jun 17
Tue, Jun 18
Wed, Jun 19
Thu, Jun 20
Fri, Jun 21
Sat, Jun 22
Sun, Jun 23
Mon, Jun 24
Tue, Jun 25
Wed, Jun 26
Thu, Jun 27
Fri, Jun 28
Sat, Jun 29
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6